States Finalize Fiscal 2020 Budgets

By Brian Sigritz posted 11 days ago

As of June 18, 33 states have enacted a budget for fiscal 2020. Additionally, in another 6 states (Alaska, California, Connecticut, Florida, Louisiana, and Vermont) the legislature has passed the budget and the governor is currently reviewing the budget bills. The 11 states where the legislature has not yet finalized the budget are: Delaware, Massachusetts, Michigan (fiscal year begins Oct. 1), New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Wisconsin. 

46 states will begin their fiscal year on July 1 (New York begins its fiscal year on April 1, Texas on September 1, and Alabama and Michigan on October 1). Governors in 47 states have proposed new budgets for fiscal 2020 (30 states will enact an annual budget, while 17 states will enact a biennial budget covering both fiscal 2020 and fiscal 2021). Last year, 3 states enacted budgets covering both fiscal 2019 and fiscal 2020.

Please click here for links to proposed and enacted budgets, as well as budget summaries.